A person is required to establish proof of age and identity by submitting required documentation to the Clerk. One of the following age-related documents:
and one of the following photo identifications:
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS:
1. Social Security Card
2. Past Income Tax Forms
3. Any document providing proof of your entire Social Security Number on the form
NOTE: Social Security Numbers of the applicants are mandatory. They are required by NY State Domestic Relations Law Section 15 and 42 U.S.C. 666(a). They may be used for child support enforcement purposes.
Information regarding ALL previous marriages must be furnished in the application for a marriage license. This includes whether the former spouse or spouses are living and whether the applicants are divorced and, if so, when, where and against whom the divorce or divorces were granted. A certified copy of the Decree of Divorce or a Certificate of Dissolution of Marriage will be required by the clerk issuing the marriage license.
ONE-DAY WEDDING OFFICIANT LICENSE:
New York State now requires a One-Day Officiant License for all persons not previously ordained. This is only good for one marriage ceremony, and the officiant must:
1. be 18 years of age or older
2. register with the same municipality that issues the marriage license
3. Pay a $25 registration fee
4. Show proof of ID
The One-Day Officiant does not need to be a resident of New York State, but they must apply for this one-day license for every wedding they will officiate along with a $25 fee for each wedding. You may also apply for the one-day officiant license by mail by sending the completed form at the bottom of this page; a $25 check made out to "The Town of Manchester"; and a photocopy of a form of identification such as a driver's license or passport. These three things must be sent to the following address if applying by mail:
1272 County Rd 7
Clifton Springs, NY 14432
*Note: The marriage license worksheet at the bottom of this page details the information needed to complete a marriage license application and may be helpful during the process
The fee for obtaining a Marriage License is $40.00.
The fee for obtaining a One-Day Officiant License is an ADDITIONAL $25.00.
We accept Cash, Check , Money Order, Credit Cards & Debit Cards
Note: Credit and Debit Cards will be charge $1.75 fee in addition to the $40.00.
A marriage license is valid for 60 days, beginning the day after it is issued.
A One-Day Officiant License expires on the date the couple is married or their marriage license expires, whichever occurs first.
The age of consent is now 18 years old (17 with either parental or judicial consent would be necessary)
***Please contact the Manchester Town Clerk's Office with questions***
To be valid, a marriage ceremony must be performed by any of the individuals specified in Section 11 of the NY State Domestic Relations Law. These include:
The person performing the ceremony must be registered with the City of New York in order to perform a ceremony within the New York City limits. The officiant does not have to be a resident of New York State. Ship Captains are not authorized to perform marriage ceremonies in New York State
Please fill out this form and bring it with you in addition to the necessary forms of identification detailed at the top of this page when applying for a marriage license
Please complete this form and submit in person or by mail if you will be having a family member, friend, or other unordained person perform the ceremony.